COS Bylaws

The Chicago Ophthalmological Society is a not-for-profit Illinois corporation.  Its structure and governance are defined by the Articles of Incorporation and the Bylaws.  The current Bylaws were adopted by the membership in 2012.

CLICK HERE to view the current bylaws.

The Society is governed by an 11-member board of directors.  In addition, six non-voting young ophthalmologist delegates participate in board meetings, as well as the quarterly and annual meeting program chairs.

 Proposed COS Bylaws Amendments (2012)

The link below will take you to the COS bylaws amendments which will be brought before the membership for discussion and a vote at the general business meeting on Monday, May 14, 2012.  The actual detailed amendments and a line-by-line summary are provided below. 
The COS leadership has reviewed these changes which are intended to accommodate our mutual goals, including:
  • Bringing young ophthalmologists into a more active role in the organization
  • Providing for greater transparency
  • Updating the organization of the board to achieve better efficiencies
  • And utililizing newer technologies to disseminate and receive information
Members -- please review the proposal prior to the business meeting on May 14.  Thank you, as always, for your participation in the Chicago Ophthalmological Society!
This page was updated 5/8/2012