Beem-Fisher Awards Program

The Chicago Ophthalmological Society always has placed a high priority on participation by residents from the Chicago area training programs.  Toward that end, Chicago-area ophthalmology residents and fellows in training are invited to compete for the Beem-Fisher Award.  Research papers submitted are judged by a committee of prominent COS leaders who designate first place, second place, and third place recipients.  Cash prizes are associated with these awards, and the first place winner is invited to present a summary of his/her paper at the last monthly conference of the year.

VIEW the list of previous award winners.

The predecessor for this program had its origins back in the early 1960s when, at the COS annual conference on May 24/25, 1963, Ione F. Beem's bequest to the Society was announced.  She donated $10,000 to establish a fund in honor of the first president of COS -- William A. Fisher -- to be used for a cash award for the best original paper submitted.  To this day, we are proud to honor Drs. Fisher and Beem by continuing their legacy in support of research by our ophthalmologists in training. 

Schedule for the 2024 Competition

CLICK HERE for a submission application ("fillable" PDF form that you can complete on  your computer and print or email)  If you want to email your completed application, first save it to your computer with the name of the file including your name; then send as an attachment.
SUBMISSION DEADLINE:  8:00 a.m., April 29, 2024
PLEASE NOTE:  Your submission (application form and paper) must be submitted in a single PDF file.   Submissions with multiple files will be returned.

A list of previous award recipients can be found HERE.  

Instructions on submitting a paper for consideration

Who may apply: 
The Beem-Fisher Competition is open to any resident in ophthalmology (PGY2-4) enrolled in a Chicago-area approved training program, which includes Loyola University, Northwestern University, Rush University Medical Center, Stroger Hospital of Cook County, University of Chicago, and the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Applying residents may submit one paper per resident per year. Projects must be sponsored by at least one faculty member at the resident’s training program who also is a member in good standing of the Chicago Ophthalmological Society. Research projects should be completed, and not proposals only for future work. Projects may be retrospective, prospective, original or collaborative research, literature-only projects, and may be clinical or basic science in scope. All research that involves human or animal research must have institutional review board approval. All animal research must show adherence to the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology regulations.  The work contained in the submission must be the resident's own. 

All submissions must be written up as a paper; a PowerPoint-only submission will not be considered.  If you submit your paper electronically, it must be in PDF format and sent as a single file.  Submissions with multiple files will be returned.

All papers are judged by a panel of COS members to be determined yearly.  Only one representative per training institution will sit on the judging panel.

What to Submit: 
Residents must submit the application form and an original manuscript electronically to the COS. The submission may be either as a PDF or Word document file. A "fillable" version of the application form is posted on the COS website. PowerPoint-only submissions are not accepted. If the project has already been published as a paper or poster, the original typed manuscript should still be submitted, rather than a reprint of the publication or poster. There is no minimum or maximum word count required.

Where to send your submission:

By email: [email protected]
Upload via "Hightail"  --  
    (use this method if you are sending a large file; DO NOT use Dropbox or Google Drive)

Prize Awarded: 

Winners will be notified by phone, email or letter by the President of the COS. Prizes awarded will be for: 
     1st Place - $500, 2nd Place - $200, 3rd Place - $100. First place winner will also receive a wall plaque. 
Winners will be announced at the May monthly meeting of the COS.

Presentation of Winning Papers: 
After notification, the first place winner will be deliver the PowerPoint summary live at the May COS meeting. Winners will be listed yearly at the COS web site.

Last Updated on Monday, February 12, 2024 11:50 AM